Welcome to Casa Cor de Rosa e Branco

Needing urgent help for someone for cleaning a store house, painting, etc.
Also in need for skilled experienced electrician.
Please contact us only by email, if you are one of those.
And only if you have a proper insurance.
(Check if you have insurance that covers medical care including transportation home, accidents, and loss of property. You should also be covered against you injuring other people or losing or breaking other peoples' property. Make sure your insurer knows that you will be a volunteer on a farm. Special insurance for WWOOF members: http://www.wwoof.org/wwindynews/wwoof_info/info_21.htm)

Start by reading very well all this text.
Are you able to experiment to live, while you are here, as if you agree with 100% of our way of life?
Yes?
So now you can continue by sending us an email, to our email address mas100...@gmail.com with your wwoof data and telling us why you decided to apply for a stay.
Before you apply to come here it is better you watch this film with lots of attention:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNrOUUnF06Y
You can use for free the internet in the library or in the Cinema, nearby.

Here we never know what is happening next. It can be a TV crew filming, a radio program, volunteering somewhere else, etc... ;-)
This is a documentary in the main national TV also about us:

http://rtp.pt/blogs/programas/linhadafrente/?k=REGRESSO-AS-ORIGENS.rtp&post=12592

And here you can see several videos about Montijo:

http://mariaafonsosancho.blogspot.com/search?q=montijo&updated-max=2008-09-23T00%3A50%3A00%2B05%3A30&max-results=20

Montijo belongs to the "great Lisbon". We are 5/6km from the white bridge (Vasco da Gama) toll. And 30m from the centre of Lisbon, by bus (10m) and boat (20m). The bus-top is just 3 meters far from your door.
We are a house in a 500 m2 plot, located in the historical centre of a town, in the left bank of the river Tagus, opposite Lisbon. The house and the trees are more than 100 years old but the 1st floor was built in 1923. There is a 300m2 edible garden. I'm creating conditions to have here a residence for creative artists, vegetarians and ecologically concerned people. We have to finish the building inside to offer proper accommodations for all of us. We need carpenters and people who knows about building, electricity or water installation, alive-roofs, etc.
Only few works are needed in the garden.
I have completed a UK Permaculture Association Design Course.
Here you live in a new way.
We eat mainly vegetarian/vegan/macrobiotic food. We do sun-gazing.
Usually all woofers here improve their health a lot, because I'm experienced in Naturopathy. But if you want to be taught or receive treatments, massage, cupping, eat a very careful diet, coaching, counselling in health issues or astrology, etc. it is not for free.
Here we do detox for the body and soul. And about revolutions... we do it only inside of us.
This is a place for people who wants to discover their inner power. In peace. Being responsible for their own lives.
Our aim is to live in balance with our inner nature as well as with nature around us.
We care about living in peace, out of the fear energy and following our personal natural rhythms. Enjoying the work and the rest, as well.
Don't apply to come here if you feel and see everything wrong around you.
Here you are treated like a family member.
Here you are not "just an wwoofer" who is treated like cattle...
We go to other houses of friends and family. Nice places. Kind people.

Your work will be the one you prefer from a list and the one you are able to do. There is a lot of work restoring furniture and the buildings.
But sometimes the work we have is just to keep things neat and tidy. Please, do it after you use anything. Leave it better than you found.
Better, also, if you are responsible and able to organize yourself with the duties; because we have lots of things to do and we can not be by your side. You should contribute with 5 hours of daily work. With 2 free days a week. Which we agree among us.
You have to respect limits.
This is a healing biotope.
The houses, the tools and all area has to be kept clean and in order. Most things here are fine and fragile. Please be careful in the use of tools and furniture, etc.
It is a little like a monastery. But we all improve and change a lot with it.
Now I'm writing a novel. There is another book already in the market (http://www.wook.pt/ficha/contos-com-final-feliz/a/id/10636086) But we can also go to work in other place or to the radio or the TV, any time.
There is ingredients in a kitchen you can use to cook your meals. You can buy other things for your use,
If you stay enough time to learn or you are particularly skilled I use to write a recommendation letter, assuring your very good skills. An efficient, independent and old style way, to do it.
Much better and empowering than diplomas from schools or universities. And the ones I wrote changed a lot, for better, the life of their owners.

Have a look about this area in those films:

http://www.falcaoazul.com/site/index.php

And in those photos:

http://www.mun-montijo.pt/pt/conteudos/galeria+de+imagens/igreja.htm?wbc_purpose=Basic&WBCMODE=PreloginFOloginFOloginFOloginFOloginFOloginFO

We are 5km from the south end of the white bridge across the river Tagus.
Usually in summer we go to the beach or have a nap and work only when the temperature is cooler.
The river has pink flamingos, wonderful sunrises and sunsets and is only 500m from us.
In winter we start working about 10 or 11am when it starts to be warmer.

It is very easy to go to Cascais, Estoril, Sintra or Lisbon from here.
There is lots of good restaurants and bars around. Some wwoofers go to the restaurants and get the food for free in the end of the day. You can have a very nice meal from 3 to 8 Euro. Only with fresh ingredients from the sea and the fields. Most of those restaurants deserve lots of stars from Michelin.
Grilled or fried fish is a staple. Eals, here, are exquisitely cooked.
The best for your "sweet tooth", in typical cakes, is the " Casa das Queijadas" in front of the main bus station waiting-room. Very close to our house, you find " Chez Catherine", a beautiful French lady who sells delicious French cakes. Everybody says they have the best "pasteis de nata" in Portugal.
All woofers love their cakes!
Besides nearby there is shops for everything.
Inside our walls you feel in the countryside. But if you open the gate you are in a very agreeable and peaceful city.

Some of our neighbours come here to share our experiences and work as voluntaries as well.
Like D. Tonica who comes here to cook some delicious dishes from her home-town in Alentejo. Or D. Ines who knows a lot about plants and herbal-teas. Or the teacher of "portugese for foreigners" Luisa who lives next door. So you can learn our language with her. It is better to learn portuguese in Portugal. Because if you learn it in Brasil you arrive, here or in Africa, and you will not understand a word. I have seen here too much people desperate for this reason. :/ If you learn here you understand the portugues in any other country. ;)

If you damage something here you are responsible for it.
And if you don't adapt to us, very soon you are asked to go.
Check if you have insurance that covers medical care including transportation home, accidents, and loss of property. You should also be covered against you injuring other people or losing or breaking other peoples' property. Make sure your insurer knows that you will be a volunteer on a farm. Special insurance for WWOOF members: http://www.wwoof.org/wwindynews/wwoof_info/info_21.htm

Get yourself a free European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) in case you need medical treatment whilst in Portugal, either as the result of illness or accident.

Bring good ecological care products, please. Or you have to buy them here as soon as you arrive. Because all the grey-water goes to the plants. I suggest: Weleda, Wala, Lavera, Henna Plus, John Masters Organics, etc.
Not allowed: bad quality food, disturbing music (even in personal devices), terror or action films and drugs (even hiding...) .

Please read the directions take notes and carry them with you!

It is better if you contact us by email. Send your wwoof data and tell us the reason you decided to apply to come here.
Most wwoofers stay in touch with us and come again and again.
Availability calendar

When can you visit Casa Cor de Rosa e Branco?

Open Vacancy
Aug.
Sep.
Oct.
Nov.
Dec.
Jan.
Feb.
Mar.
Apr.
May.
Jun.
Jul.
Host Information
Name
Casa Cor de Rosa e Branco
Region
Estremadura
Areal
0
Ecological
100
Animals
cats, frogs, birds, hamsters, fish, etc. on their own ;-)
Languages
Portugues, english, français, español, italiano,
Diet
mostly vegan macrobiotic
Preferred visit length
1 or 2 weeks
We check messages
In the gmail email box: often.
Preferred period of visit
Now
We grow and collect seeds for our own use
Yes
We produce our own feed for our animals
Yes