Welcome to Quinta do Vale

Quinta do Vale is run by Andreas and Tom.
Andreas is German, but he speaks a good English and Portuguese, he can also understand and speak a little French. Tom is also from Germany and he arrived in November to live in a community with us.
Right now, Andreas is living in the farm with volunteers that we are receiving, while Lucas is working in Lisbon.

Andreas is a 61 years old engineer that has always a lot of ideas and solutions on his mind. He is dedicated to nature, permaculture and biological food.
Tow years ago, Andreas had an accident and now he has a prosthetic hip, so he can’t do some tasks and he need to rest several times per day. But he’s always available to explain every task, and he would love to give you all small details, if you ask for it!!
Lucas is 25 years old and he studied programming. At the moment he is working in Lisbon, but every two weeks Lucas goes to the farm, for some days, to manage all the bureaucratic issues. Although, it’s Lucas that organizes the calendar, the main tasks and you can count on him by e-mail or skype, every morning! He a very peaceful person and he is very patient, so if you need to solve any problem he’s the right person! Around the house use to be Rafa She’s Lucas girlfriend, a Portuguese girl that lived already at the farm, but right now is working in Coimbra (nearest big city!) so she can’t be there so often. However if you have any doubt you can also contact her. Any problem that you need to solve in the big city or if you need a sightseeing tour count on her!

==================== Projects ===================

=== Garden ===
- Planting new plants
- Watering the garden
- Weeding the garden
- Picking vegetables/fruits (on the right time!)

=== Building another kitchen ===
In one of the houses we need to build a new kitchen. Part of it is done, but we need someone with carpentry skills to keep building cabinets. We also need to paint the kitchen!!

=== Painting ===
Some new walls have to get painted inside one of the houses.

=== Clay Oven ===
We want to have a clay oven to bake our own bread. Soon we get interested volunteers in this project we can get the material and start doing it!

=== Wooden Fence ===
Our goats are very misbehaved! We should build a big wooden fence, to keep them free and happy! Right now they are on long leaches (that we change every day!) but we need a permanent solution!

=== Jams and Conserves ===
During the summer we should find new and good ways to preserve our vegetables and fruits. We can freeze them, make jams, pickles and sauces. It’s a very important task that needs to be executed perfectly. If the jars aren’t well washed and sterilized all your work goes to the waist!

=== Adobe Dome Construction ===
This is the greatest project that we have and for this one we need some experienced volunteers – with masonry skills or knowledge about adobe.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

* * * Working time * * *
This can be different from volunteer to volunteer. When we need to teach you something you don't know it will take us time, so you will do 5h or 6h depending on how much you can do in that time.
6 days a week, 1 day off. So if you are not afraid of getting your hands dirty we would love to hear from you! You don't need to have any special skills, but you might leave with some :)

****** Minimum Stay 2 Weeks *********

* * * Rules for your stay * * *
- When you arrive at the farm the first thing you should do it’s to read our rules’ book. It’s just some pages about our habits and our concerns – since you’ll be part of our house and our life is very important to us, that you can understand and respect the way we live. If you want to know everything in advance, we can send you the book by e-mail.
- At the moment we use electricity to heat up our shower water that is from our own mine, but still we have to save to use it to water the plants in the summer! That means that the shower can't be running for longer than 5-8 minutes for each person a day.
- To cook we use propane and a wood oven. We prefer to use the second option for every meal. Just to the breakfast and to re-heat some leftovers people can use the propane oven.
- We need responsible wwoofers that are proactive and autonomous! We try often to have meetings and clarify all the tasks that you can do. Then you should feel free to do what you think it’s the most important tasks! That means that we need creative, honest and committed people to work with us!
- The characteristic that we give the most value is the ability of using your own head to find solutions and to improve yourself and the place where you are. So please consider this for your decision.
- If you have any doubt, even if you think is a stupid thing: ASK! Ask Andreas, don’t worry you won’t bother him, or call/skype Lucas if he isn’t at the farm! You will always find an answer; and if you ask twice is fine too!! 
- You need to be truly devoted to the cause – volunteering work - because we're not an hotel, we are a farm where hard work has to be done!

* * * To Bring With You * * *
- Every volunteer must bring their own working boots/shoes, working clothes, some warm clothes because the nights are cooler and swimsuit.
- Every volunteer must bring a flashlight
- If you have a special health need, please tell us about that and bring your own medication. If you want to buy it in Portugal, please inform us in advance, because we need to translate/identify the name to find the right one!
- If you have a special food need, please, tell us about that and, if it’s still on our budget we can buy it just for you. If you need to eat caviar every morning, we are sorry but you should bring your own! 

* * * The wwoofers opinion * * *
You are always free to tell us if anything is wrong and we will not judge you for that. It's better to know what you think than see you unhappy or not motivated!

# # # ABOUT THE PLACE # # #

Our farm has 2 ha, where are two houses. One belongs to Andreas (and half belongs to his ex-wife) and the other belongs to Lucas and his sisters. The first one is the operations center! Where we cook, sit together and it’s closer to the vegetables garden, to the shed and to the animal’s stable.
The second house is where the rooms to the volunteers are. There we have 3 bedrooms available: one with a double bed, other with two single beds and the other we can set the mattresses that we want. Both houses have a place to hang out, but the first one is the only with internet and wi-fi.
In our place you can find an artificial lake, a little bamboo forest, a little stream, many gardens, a bath tub that you can heat up making a small fire underneath it, an outside kitchen, a “swim pool” – it’s a 2 meters deep water tank where we use to swim, many places to set a tent or to sleep outside.
At the moment we have 4 female goats, 1 billy-goat, 3 baby goats, 2 sheep and around 20 chickens/rosters/chicks. The chickens run free in their yard and the other animals spend the day in long leaches, otherwise they would eat everything - so the project to build the fence is a priority!!!
Our farm is just 17 km from an important city - Coimbra. There you can visit the University - is one of the oldest in Europe in continuous operation, it was established first in 1290! To get there you have a bus directly from our village (you only have one 3 times per day) or another bus which stops is 4km away, but there are several buses every day. If someone is going in that direction maybe you can get a ride, although the trip by foot is lovely!
There are a lot of other sightseeing's like the ruins from 'Conimbriga' 13 km from us. This is one of the largest settlements of Romans in Portugal. We also have a mountain near by - SERRA DA LOUSÃ - and 17km from us you can find schist villages. You can also go for a hike in nature. We also have a nice river that has very clear water, where you can swim in the Summer - 18 km from us.

º º º Production º º º
Fruits (apples, pears, plums, peaches, apricots, grapes, Kiwis, oranges, lemons, strawberries, raspberries, figs, kaki...)
Nuts (walnut, almond)
Vegetables (tomatoes, zucchini, potatoes, beetroot, cucumber, beans, peas, celery, eggplant, chard, rhubarb, pumpkin, spinach, peppers, cabbage, onions, garlic ...)
Goat cheese (~ April to October)


For more information's please check our website in the contact information.
Availability calendar

When can you visit Quinta do Vale?

Open Vacancy
Host Information
Quinta do Vale
Beira Litoral
4 Goats (Babys soon), Chickens
Portuguese, German, English a bit of Spanish
Mostly Vegetarian.
Preferred visit length
at least 2 weeks and up to 2 months
We check messages
Mostly every 3 days
Preferred period of visit
March - November
We grow and collect seeds for our own use
We produce renewable energy (wind, Sun etc)
We produce our own feed for our animals