WWOOF Portugal


  • English
  • Français
  • Português

Host AT094

We are two persons wo live in an untouched nature and peacefull atmosphere of a 20 ha-farm. Our project is to work with our horses, restaurate our beautiful old portugiese farmhouse and tame our wilderness. We are fully independant from communal facilities, we have solar-current and our own water.
We are 10 minutes by car from the next village with supermarkets, restaurants and small shops. There are busses to the Beaches.
We wish us an interested, openminded and independant working person, who is fully engaged to help us without always controlling the watch. We prefere volunteers, who have own ideas, lots of questions and open eyes, persons, who are happy to share with us for a minimum of 2 weeks or longer our farmlife in the wilderness and enjoy our wonderful untouched countryside.
You should like to do the gardening, weeding and cultivating the vegetable garden, also to embellish parts around the house by weeding , clearing regions from stones, taking care for flowers, herbs and fruittrees, painting the outside walls with natural colours, making paths and small walls with natural stones.You should help us in general maintanance, householding, cleaning house and the terraces.
There are tasks around the horsekeeping like cleaning the pastures and shelters from horse-dung, feeding, taking care for the fences and repair if needed, clearing and tidy up some reagions of the meadows from stones and bushes. You should help us with simple constructions for example sun-shelters for cars or the restauration/repairing of an old camper. The most important work is currently clearing and cultivating parts of our corktree forest with its thicket of macchia and blackberries with power-saw and building a new horsefence. Therefore we prefere in the moment male volunteers, who has fun to work outside in the forest and the overgrown pastures on the hills and under the olivetrees. If you are experienced wich horses, you can do groundwork or make walks by foot; if you are an experienced rider you can ride on the place or roundpen or make a trail.

Accomodation: Caravan with own terrace and beautiful view in the landscape. You bring your own sleeping bag and workingdress. Access to shower and WC. We have a grillplace where you can grill or cook for yourself.

We offer normal meals, (greens, salad, beans, pasta, sometimes meat or eggs), we are not cooking vegetarian or even vegan. Breakfast is served with tea or coffee, cereals, milk or joghurt, some fruits or bread, butter, marmelade. We cook not every day, so the volunteer is free cooking for himself. A strict rule: the kitchen has to be cleaned before leaving after cooking. Volunteers who want beer or wine or ask for some special ( for example vegan) food, should provide themselves. On free days, if the volunteer is outside, he helps himself with food. We are not a tourist Ressort, on our farm are no surf-boards available, we have no transferbusiness to the beaches. We don't need yoga- or dance-lessons, as well as no thaimassages, meditation or similar things. Further we don't need artists or musicians.

We required 5 hours per day 6 days a week.

Host availability

When can you visit this host?

Host information
4 horses 1 dog 3 cats
english, german, a little portugiese
Preferred length of stay
4 weeks
We produce renewable energy (wind, sun, etc)