Languages

  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Abby

Hi! We are a young family from the Netherlands, Thijs(36), Abby(33) and (Boris(2.5).

Since 2014 we have been building our home here, in Terceira. One of the islands in the Atlantic. We take care of an fruit orchard and in summertime we provide cozy and comfortable accommodations in the middle of our little 'chestnut-forest' and 'organge lane'. The main fruits are Figs, Oranges and Araca.

We like to experiment with different organic techniques to fertilize the Rocky volcanic soil and grow vegetables for our own use.

In the summer we run a small scale eco-camping in our fruit orchard in which we could use some enthusiastic, independent volunteers!
To give you an idea, here's some examples of the activities for the summer of 2018!
Harvesting, weeding and planting in the communual vegetable garden, creating ornamental gardens around the accomodations and treating fruit trees with organic mixtures to prevent insect plagues.

Also we would like to build a natural water filtering system (grey water filter) this year and of course there is weeding, harvesting, watering and feeding animals on daily level :-)

Your accomodation:
One of the completely equipped bungalow tents (with an actual bed and matrass) surrounded by greens will be your home when you are living with us. The tents are spaceous enough to be very comfortable. You can use the communual outdoor kitchen, communal bathroom and (compost) toilet.

Food:
We would like to share lunch and dinner in the house on days that you help (5 days a week, 5 hours a day).

Good to know:
We love to share and spend time together, but we also enjoy our privacy. So we find it important that you are independent. On days that you don't help you could cook your own meals in the tent or use the fire place to grill :) Also there are a few places on walking distance where you can get yourself a nice and affordable dinner.

Transport & Things to do:
There is a bus station just 50 m from our house. In about 45 min you can reach Angra do Heroísmo, the main town on the island to do shopping. Buses don't go after 18h00 though. Hitch hiking is quite easy here during the day. Renting a car is optional too (about 25-35 euro per day).

On 5 min walk from our house there is a small supermarket and a bar, a snackbar and a post office. 1-2 times a week we drive to the town and of course you are welcome to join for shopping etc. And for some sightseeing or a drop off we are flexible :)

There is wireless access to internet in and around the house.

AbbyVille is our project which includes our work, our dream and our school of life in the same time. We like you to be a part of it!
For much more information about us, Abbyville and for more visual impressions, please visit our website.

Host availability

When can you visit Abby?

January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
December
Host information
Host name
Abby
Region
Açores
Area
1ha
Animals
Yes! A chicken family and 2 cats
Languages
English, Dutch Portuguese
Diet
We like to cook vegetarian meals, but we do enjoy some local meat once in a while
Ecological
70%
Preferred length of stay
3 weeks
We grow and collect seeds for our own use
Yes
How often will you check your messages?
At least once per week