• Français
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Africa das Joaninhas

I'm Patrícia, I have 40 years old and I'm the mother of a 12 years old girl, Gabriela Sol and I'm Portuguese. My small land is Africa das Joaninhas, the name came from the name given to the surrounding country side area, Africa, and the fact that there is a lot of ladybugs(joaninhas) in my field.
My background is Permaculture ( Fukuoka, Bill Mollison) and I'm also Inspired by Emilia Hazelip synergetic garden work and Linda Woodrow Mandala Garden.
At the moment redesigning the permaculture project to fit a small community.
My goal is to promote a ecological and sustainable style of live starting.
I/We start to design a Permaculture project for the farm. I intend to start a food forest, first by creating a nursery or trees with the intent of reforesting the 1,5ha of land.
At the time I'm producing manly for personal consuption but working for deliver locally 5 to 7 baskets, maximum 10 km from the farm.
Building: I'm fininshing the Kitchen, walls and stove.I will remodeling the shower using manly glass bottles for this. I'm planning to build a new Hut so the main house can be use for hosting volunteers.

I'm working giving Mandala Garden workshops, Making design for permaculture gardens and planing to deliver 5 to 7 baskets of fruit and vegetables locally.

I have the possibility of camping or parking an caravan.
Hot shower can be improvised by heating the water on the rocket stove, put on a bucket and pull it high so the shower can work.
There's a solar panel and it's possible to charge mobils and pc between 11h00 and 13h00 if there's no clods.
There's an Internet Connection it's private but you can ask in advance when you need it.

Alimentação | Food:
100% Orgânic
The food is Vegetarian, can be Vegan and Raw,..
The food will be cooked by all on the fire.
Breakfast is normally: Rice and Soya milk BIO, Cereals and Fruit. If you would like other things please ask me in advance.
Lunch and Dinner: Vegetables from the Crop, Cereals, beans, lentils, soya,etc. Most organic.

I normaly don´t buy bread,butter, cheese, chocolate, coffee, wine.

Winter timetable:
8h00 Prepare Breakfeast
8h30 Breakfeast
9h00 Cleanings
10h00 to 12h30 Work
12h30 Prepare Luch
13h00 Lunch
14h30 to 17h30 Work
19h00 Meeting to share how it was the day and prepare next day of work, Share Knowledges
19h30 Prepare dinner
20h00 Dinner

Work: 5 days a week, on the rest of the days the schedule is the same, except for the work tasks that is freetime, this if you wish to stay on the farm and participate on the meals.

All people, adults, children and pets are welcome!

Host availability

When can you visit Africa das Joaninhas?

Host information
Host name
Africa das Joaninhas
3 dogs,2 cats, 8 chickens, 2 goose, 1 duck
Portuguese, Español, Catalá, English, Français, Italiano
Vegetarian and Organic
Preferred length of stay
one month or more
We grow and collect seeds for our own use
We produce renewable energy (wind, sun, etc)
How often will you check your messages?
2 to 5 times per week