• Français
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Host AG067

Our organic / agro tourism project is close to the coast situated just in the back of a beautiful fishermen village called Santa Luzia. 5 kilomters away from Tavira. The farm is managed by Marit. She is a 36 year old Dutch woman with a PDC (perma culture design certificate) and 7 years of experience in the field. Marit get's help from Gjula, a Hungarian man, who has extensive experience in traditional (organic) agriculture. Mix all these farming principles together and you get our place. But during your time here you will mostly be working with Marit.
Our aim is to sell our produce only locally and therefor we are a part of a collective that, together, sells their produce on the market of Tavira.
The farm is a part off a eco tourist rental company. Clients who stay in the rental houses around the farm are in the possibility to come and buy vegetables directly from the lands. Or just to walk around and experience being on a farm.

We grow vegetables and have a small orchard and are interested in agriculture and self-sufficiency.
We are a organic farm, so we don't spray any chemicals on our produce, We try to work with nature, not against it.

We are looking for enthusiastic and energetic people who are intrested in a long term stay (minimum 3 weeks). Who are not afraid of phycical work and are able to live and/or work in groups. And please do realize you end up in a rural environment. So no pizza take aways around the corner, no disco, just some old men's bars... and you share your house and the lands with gekkos, spiders, huge ants, mice, rats, snakes and so on. None of them will ever be able to kill you or hurt you badly. I would not invite people if there was such a possibility. But if you are afraid of bugs or might think you enjoy big city impulses too much this might not be the place for you. On the other hand, if you enjoy outside life, nature, hiking, cooking sessions that take hours, good company, and a easy and relax life, this is totally it for you!!

We ask the volunteers to help from Mon/Fri from 08.00/13.00. Weekends off.
In return for your help we will offer you accommodation in a basic farm house next to Marit's place and you can eat all the vegetables from the land you want. Marit will make sure your frigde is filled with the basic necessities like bread, stuff to put on your bread, yoghurt, muesli, water, pasta, rice, ect. Of course we can serve for vegetarians, vegans. Also if you are allergic to any food we can ajust the shopping list too! Booze, chips, candy, meat and so on are for your own costs.
We ask you to self cater since the farmers are working on different times than the volunteers do. We start earlier and work longer. Sometimes we do eat together though. It is fun! But it always happens on impulse. When everybody feels like it.
There is a pool table, a washing machine and a beautiful beach just at your doorstep. We have NO wifi and NO tv though....

Host availability

When can you visit this host?

Host information
Pigs, Goats, Chickens, ducks, dog, cats
English, Dutch and a bit of Portugese
We seldomly eat meat. Most of our meals are vegetarian/vegan. SO catering for non-meat eaters is absolutely no problem. Since one of the farmers has food allergies we know how to deal with that too. So don't be worried if you can't eat nuts, gluten ect.
Preferred length of stay
4 weeks