Languages

  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Host AG085

6-10 November : We will be hosting 3 or maximum 4 persons (in case there is a couple, one of the beds is a double one) to help us build a straw-clay wall with timber frame as well as bamboo roof. We will work on it from Monday to Thursday from 10 am to 1.30 pm. Leaving you free to organize your afternoons. We will take care of your breakfast and lunch and let you organize your dinner on your own. Friday, we can all meet on the beach, surf and stuff.

After the 10th of November :
We are looking for a couple, friends or a little family to take care of our spacious yurt (7 m). It is placed half-way to the top of a hill with an outstanding view on the Serra de Monchique, SW Portugal. The valley is beautiful, full of wildlife and of very interesting neighbors (permaculture experts, herbal remedies maker, doula...).

Minimum stay 2 weeks so we have time to hang around and get to know each other.

The yurt is equipped with a double bed, a bunker bed and many storage facilities. The yurt and the kitchen are lighted with a little solar panel. There is also a bathroom next to the yurt with a bathtub and a compost toilet. Water is powered from the river to the kitchen by a solar pump.

The caretaking includes :
- check on the existing infrastructure (yurt, roof of the outdoor kitchen and bathroom, solar powered water pump) and maintain them in case of hazards
- prepare a small off-grid solar power system

We furnish all the material necessary to the conduct of the caretaking.
We provide you with potatoes, sweet potatoes, oranges, onions, beans, cereals and some basic cooking ingredients at the beginning of your stay.

We will be available to help and introduce you to this beautiful region since we will be staying at 8 km from you. We recommend to have a vehicle since there is no more place in our car with the 3 kids on board... but we have a bike available for you.

We are flexible on the dates and exchange terms. Let us share on the needs of both parts to find the best agreement for all.

- - -

The people at Quinta da Cascalheira intend to foster the biodiversity lost alongside the years in this beautiful valley (fire hazard, eucalyptus plantations) thus finding solutions to the soil erosion phenomenon.

We would be happy to receive your support. This year we plan to work on natural constructions made of clay or bamboo, plantations of fruit trees fighting against desertification, fire prevention/soil enrichment... And on all good ideas that would in-between emerge !

We are a half Portuguese half French family who fell in love with an 15 ha land of cork oak & strawberry trees at the end of an incredible valley. The two mounts are crossed by a little river which runs all year long and sustains a formidable ecosystem.

All year long our heads and hands are busy with projects as autonomous solar system, yurt building, straw and clay construction, fire prevention actions, irrigation installation, river banks management...

We love cooking, singing, practising capoeira & drums, enjoying the view, surfing and are always happy to discover new ways of living and thinking. We love sharing about languages and cultural differences. If you feel like improving your Portuguese or French, this is the right place !

No need to say that South-West beaches are beautiful, waves huge and the trekking possibilities innumerous.

Looking forward to meeting you.

Pour les francophones : ce qui nous botte vraiment, c'est d'avoir le temps de créer des liens avec les personnes qui viennent nous donner un coup de main. On est aussi super inspirés par les différentes façons de vivre comme Rubinson de Crusoé et de se connecter à la nature de notre vallée. En bref, ça ne nous intéresse pas de voir défiler des tas de gens, on préfère des personnes qui ont le temps de se poser, encore mieux si vous envisagez de venir vivre dans notre région.

Host availability

When can you visit this host?

April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
December
January
February
March
Host information
Region
Algarve
Area
15ha
Animals
yes (dogs and hopefully soon some hens)
Languages
Portuguese, French, English, German, Spanish
Diet
no special diet, not meat in the plate everyday though, preference for local veggies
Ecological
90%
Preferred length of stay
2 weeks but we are flexible
We grow and collect seeds for our own use
Yes
We produce renewable energy (wind, sun, etc)
Yes