WWOOF Portugal

Languages

  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Host AG119

We are a 34 years old couple, from France: Jules and Marielle.
Marielle is the one that guide woofers at the farm.
We grow aquatic plants for natural swimming pools, and natural sewage. These plants are endemic from Portugal, with a lot of diversity including underwater plants like waterlilies and water banks plants.
We grow plants into water tanks, and the presence of water all year long in our land allow a great biodiversity.
Indeed the nursery pools host a lot of different life forms going from plancton, insects (dragonflies larvas, watersnails ), to batraciens like frogs, tritons, watersnakes, to lot more that come quench thirst once and a time (birds, our cat...)
This is an important part of what we like about aquatic plants.
More, the fact that the combination of these plants have a positive impact on the quality of water, make the cultivation even more interesting and worth willing.
There are 2 active bee hives at this moment.
The funny thing about our project is that we first came here as wwoofers almost ten years ago, we met two great hosts, fell in love with aquatic plants, came back and forth many times and finally we took back the nursery 2 years ago!
We live now in the land of our former hosts, who still live here too, in a beautiful and green land at 3 km from the ocean.
We live in yourts that Jules built, and there is a natural swimming pool on the land.
We play guitar, kora, and ukulele, we like cooking and eating, being outdoors and observe animal and insects, and speak foreign languages!

Working tasks are mostly linked to the aquatic plants nursery, and deal with weeding, dividing and multiplicating plants, seeding...
We can also ask to help with the vegetable garden or with outdoor light building with bamboo.
We require 4 hours of work per day, 5 days a week, but we can organise it differently if you need to.
Jules and I cook both. I cook only vegetarian, or rarely sea food, Jules eats and cooks meat sometimes, but our diet is mainly vegetarian.
Lunch would be taken together, and breakfast and dinner could be taken separately.
A wooden shed is available for the wwoofers, including bed, basic kitchen and bathroom.
The shed allows a bit of privacy even if it's 25 meters from our yourt.

Woofers need to bring a torch. We have everything for the bedding (sheets, blanket, pillow...)

There's a lot to do nearby. Ocean is just 3 km away from the land, with desert beaches and surf spots.
There are a lot of hiking trails passing just by our land and going to the ocean or into the land.
Aljezur is 15 km away, and the little town of Rogil is 15 min cycling from our home.
Bikes can be available for the woofers. Also there is WIFI available in our land.
We can host one to two people in the same shed or in tent if you bring one.
All the toilets in our land are dry toilets.

We would be glad to host someone who doesn't know much about what we do but who would motivated and curious to learn.
We would be glad to host Portuguese people so we could improve or portuguese!
But all others nationalities are welcome of course.

Host availability

When can you visit this host?

October
November
December
January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
Host information
Region
Algarve
Area
1ha
Animals
One cat, frogs and dragonflies
Languages
French, portuguese, english, a bit of spanish
Diet
Mainly vegetarian
Ecological
70%
Preferred length of stay
2 weeks
We grow and collect seeds for our own use
Yes