WWOOF Portugal

Languages

  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Host AG124

Lavajo Orchard
Pomar do Lavajo

The Lavajo Orchard – in portuguese Pomar do Lavajo – is a 1,5 ha farm on a single wide hill located in the district of Faro, province of Castro Marim. It distances around 15 minutes away by car from the beach of Altura, the small city of Castro Marim, the big city of Vila Real de Santo António and the spanish border in the Guadiana river. You can also walk to the village of Tanoeiro and the dam of Beliche, where you can cool down in the clear water or go fishing.

This beautiful quiet piece of land has been for centuries in the hands of local families who took good care of it growing olives, almonds, figs, carobs, cork trees and vines. Several rock rose species, wild rosemary and lavender attract bee colonies and endemic bird species find shelter in our developing food forest.

Fully exempt from the trouble of the touristic coast, you can easily get there in 15 or 20 minutes by car or public bus and visit the street markets with live music and carroussels, try regional specialties and local outdoor activities like sailing, wind and kite surfing, tree gliding, or trekking. An endless biological diversity will impress and amuse you. The area is well known among bird watchers and even chameleons and flamingos feel here at home. A visit to the natural park of Sapal is worth taking, as well as the salt spa, the several certified organic farms and the neighbour spanish city of Ayamonte.

Your hosts are Sílvia, Wuzi and Mara Li.
Sílvia is 40 y.o., a portuguese organic chef, yoga teacher, ecologist and linguistics lover. She grew up in Congo-Kinshasa and the portuguese country side, but lived her adult life in Berlin. Wuzi, 42 y.o., is a musician, producer, carpenter and designer. He grew up in the former German Democratic Republic and lived in Berlin until 2018. Mara Li is 9 y.o. and just an energetic, curious, passionate animal lover. She loves to dance, swim and watch music videos.

Starting from the scratch…
We have just digged our natural water source, which tastes delicious and is the same water that supplies the surrouding villages. On the east side of the hill, on a low level, we have built a one-person wooden bungalow with a confortable terrace. Right behind it there is our first covered kitchen with loads of space to cook your meals, in front of which the next wooden bungalow will soon be sheltering families or couples visiting. On the top of the hill we are finishing Wuzi's carpentry workshop and contiguous music studio, built from recycled wooden palettes.

The next project is the assembly of the larger bungalow for families, couples or friends (also wwoofers). After that, the main (already ordered) wooden bungalow for our own family of three needs to be set together. Both are happening this fall and winter, as well as the planting of several fruit trees.

So we need help
- assemblying the next, already ordered bungalows,
- building 2 communitarian dry toilets,
- with the installation of the watering system,
- with the next olive, almond and carob harvest.
- building the large communitarian area (kitchen, adobe stove, terrace furniture),
- in cleaning the land on one spot (taking out big wild bushes),
- in Building a Yoga space.

We expect our helpers to work
- 6 hours a day, 5 days a week -> for a bungalow with 2 hot meals, tee/water. Who's cooking will be decided on spot. We suggest a group lunch.

Sílvia and Wuzi will welcome you and determine a specific project you will be working on, developing an autonomous working style.

Other useful information:
- dry toilets (each bungalow has ist own, provisory dry toilet),
- no own WiFi- hotspot, but we have 4G connection on the area for your Smartphone.
- We can drive you with us to the villages and cities around, whenever we also need to move. Otherwise, there is a bus once a day.
- You will need your sleeping bag, own torch, working gloves, proper shoes and clothes for the farming work and regular personal stuff.

Wwoofer profiles we are looking for:
- you shouldn't mind to get dirty and work in the hot sun,
- you will need a good physical condition to help building bungalows and farming,
- families of three are welcome, considering the work needs to be done.

Host availability

When can you visit this host?

December
January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
Host information
Region
Algarve
Area
2ha
Animals
1 dog and 2 cats... to be continued
Languages
portuguese and german native speakers, french, english, spanish, bit italian
Diet
preferably vegetarian/ vegan, even if we sometimes eat fish and meat
Ecological
100%
Preferred length of stay
from 2 weeks (longer stays to be agreed after 2 weeks tentative)
We grow and collect seeds for our own use
Yes
We produce renewable energy (wind, sun, etc)
Yes