WWOOF Portugal


  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Host AT016

We are a German couple, Angelika and Dieter, in our early 60s with a smallholding in the region of Baixo Alentejo (12 km from the town of Ourique). The farm is called Monte do Compromisso.
For 30 years we have been growing fruits, vegetables and meat for self consumption.
Prior to this, we had a farm in Bavaria, South Germany. We have 3 grown children. Our daughter lives with her husband on a neighboring farm. Our
sons live nearby as well and work in alternative energy. Angelika is an artist, and Dieter works doing land managment and design.

If you want to travel from Lisbon (200km) or Faro (100km), you can take the bus to Ourique, Alentejo (www.rede-expressos.pt)
Or you can take the train to Funcheira, Alentejo (www.cp.pt). You can check the timetables and buy tickets on the websites above.
Call or email to give us your arrival time and we will come and pick you up.

We have a beautiful large biological/permaculture garden from which we produce much of our food, including a variation of different fruit trees (for self consumption). We also keep bees for honey.

Our largest focus is animal husbandry: Sheep, ducks, and chickens. We generally keep around 20 sheep, and about a dozen ducks and chickens. We have two dogs to manage the animals so we can not accomodate wooffers with dogs.

We have an 8 acre lake where we breed fish for self-consumtion. This lake will also attract a variety of native wildlife, like ducks, geese and water chicken. The lake can also be used for swimming and as a recreational area, improving the quality of natural life.
We also have a large and well-equipped workshop for wood as well as metal works.

In winter we need help with clearing the land (cutting, moving, burning). At the moment we need help to build a natural stone wall.

Please have a look at our photo gallery to see what we are doing.

We are interested in WWOOFers who are happy to help throughout the day with the tasks of keeping a farm running. Saturday we generally do housecleaning and on sundays we do not work. We are a sociable and friendly couple, we enjoy the company of others, and are also flexible with personal space. We are serious about self-sufficiency, animals, and nature husbandry. We are sure you will have a free and relaxing time, with beautiful nature trails to explore. At the same time, we are interested in and appreciate good, hard-working people! We do not intend to have WWOOFers here when we have nothing to do, so rest assured that we will not waste your time. The work will always flow with the natural seasons, so be prepared to help 5 days a week in whatever is required.

We offer lovely, cosy, comfortable accomodation for a maximum of 8 WWOOFers in the house. Wood stove, solar electricity, hot water, washing machine and of course, good home cooking. We butcher and eat meat, but we are also happy to accomodate vegetarians, although please let us know in advance about any dietary requirements.

Host availability

When can you visit this host?

Host information
Preferred length of stay
2 weeks
We grow and collect seeds for our own use
We produce renewable energy (wind, sun, etc)