WWOOF Portugal

Languages

  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Host AT101

We are a couple from Switzerland and spent the last 35 years traveling the world from Africa, to South East Asia, to Europe and South America with our four children. Andreas specialises in farming and Andrea is an artist, making paintings and sculptures. We love meeting people from all walks of life and can speak German, English, French, and Portuguese.

We recently settled down in Portugal in a beautiful 90 hectare farm in the Alentejo region, a dream we have had for a long time. We have sheep, chickens, and a little cat (Sammi). We have an organic vegetable garden that provides food for us all year round and are surrounded by olive, cork and fruit trees. We also have an art atelier and workshop for various projects. We also host retreats and welcome guests (mostly families) who rent our two guest houses.

We settled on the farm a year ago and need help getting things off the ground. We are looking for help with maintenance and art projects, as well as implementing new projects on the farm. Below are the projects that will be worked on during 2019:

Maintenance projects: tending to the vegetable garden, trimming olive trees, fixing fences, irrigation, painting, cleaning the land from stones/weeds/bushes, helping to make dinner for our guests.
New projects: laying a trail through our old olive trees, planting a fruit tree orchard (interested in permaculture!), building a stone wall.
Artistic projects: mural paintings, land art, photography/videography, work on our website, writing.

If you come during the olive harvest (mid November to mid December), you can help us harvest the olives and make our first olive oil!

We are looking for people who are flexible, motivated to help out and easy-going. You will be staying in one of the guests rooms either by yourself or with a fellow wwoofer, depending on how many people we have. Working hours are flexible but we would be happy to receive help for about 30 hours per week. You have weekends free to do what you like! Meals will be eaten together with us, we will cook for you but you are also welcome to help out. If you are working on the farm with us, please bring a good pair of shoes and make sure you are covered by accident insurance (check your travel insurance plan). Wifi is accessible in the houses.

During your free time, you can do some sightseeing, use our art atelier for artistic projects, use our bikes, or relax on the farm. We are accessible by train or bus from Lisbon or Beja and can easily do day trips.

If you are interested in coming, send us a short video of yourself or write a few paragraphs including your motivations to come help us out and what you would like to do.

We are looking forward to hearing from you and welcoming you in our home!

Host availability

When can you visit this host?

January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
December
Host information
Region
Alentejo
Area
90ha
Animals
Sheep, chickens, cat
Languages
English, Portuguese, French, Swiss German, German
Diet
We can adapt to any dietary requirements!
Ecological
70%
Preferred length of stay
1 month
We produce renewable energy (wind, sun, etc)
Yes