WWOOF Portugal

Languages

  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Host CE113

We are David, Eli and Pauline and we live on a beautiful 12h land in central Portugal with view on the Serra da Estrella mountains. The land is privately located, between Seia and Oliveira do Hospital and a dirt track of 1km separates us from the closesed village. The land is partly forest and partly open, terraced land.
We have goats, chicken, cats and dogs and a all year round organic vegetable garden. We aim for a sustainable way of living and try to provide our essentials from our own land as much as possible: fire wood, water, fruits and vegetables, eggs, milk, cheese, meat, ...

Sadly enough, on the 15th of October 2017 a firestorm has hit our land. We have lost our house, our stables, firewood storage, our beautiful yurt, a caravan, our young fruit trees, the main part of our forest and lots more!
The part of the land that had been properly maintained survived the firestorm so we still have our two wooden cabins where we temporary live in now waiting for our house to be restored.

The fire has brought us a lot more than losses. We have learned so much about how to keep your land safe from the annual fires here in Portugal. And it has also brought us closer to ourselves and each other. We feel stronger than before and have a positive energy to look forward and to continue our lives.

Since the fire we have already rebuild a new stable for our animals and we have fenced a big part of our forest for the goats. The goats are giving a lot of milk and we make fresh cheese every few days.

During the last winter we have been cutting down most of the burned pine trees. The main part of our forest had been cleared but sadly enough we see that a lot of the trees that initially had survived the fire are still dying. So there are again more trees to be cut down next winter and we still have a lot of last winters wood to be processed, meaning to be cut, split and stored. A lot of fysical hard work to be done, and that will be the main job for the following months.

Also our yearly vegetable garden is producing a lot, so we can use some help for watering, weeding and processing the harvest.

So basically we are looking for people who would like to help building, strimming, cleaning the land but also other main tasks like gardening, animal care and cooking, ... And most of all we need help with processing all the wood. Some experience with machine work like a chainsaw is a pro and a good fysical condition is a must!

If you seem interested to help us then send us some info about yourself, interests, skills and experiences. And also your motivation and expectations for your wwoof experience.

Host availability

When can you visit this host?

November
December
January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
Host information
Region
Centro
Area
12ha
Animals
Dogs, cats, chicken, goats
Languages
English, Dutch, Portuguese and French
Diet
Mainly vegetarian
Ecological
70%
Preferred length of stay
Two weeks, or longer depending on how things run between us.