WWOOF Portugal

Langues

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Host AG104

Olá!
I am searching for nice people with helping hands to transform 8h of old land into my dream, a fertile, green jungle with crazy little buildings.

My land is around 15 minutes by car northwest from Lagos close to a very small, old Portuguese village called Barão de São João, surrounded by beautiful nature.
You are close to the quiet beautiful south coast and the amazing west coast, best known for surfing.
The next airport is the one in Faro and there are trains to Lagos.
I am a 39-year-old father of a 5 year old little rock star princess. My daughter stays with me every second week. I do speak Portuguese as I am born in Lisbon, Spanish and English. My German girlfriend is here too, so German is spoken somewhere in between.
I guess I am an easygoing, open minded person. We live here with two dogs and three pigs other animals like goats, donkeys, chickens are planned.
I am at the beginning of building my dream on an 8,5ha land.
My goal is a more self efficient, biological life and I do have a huge list of crazy projects from a self running Aquaponics system over my own skatepark up to an artistic buildings "town"… But these are only the bigger projects. Trying to get forward it’s all about the smaller (not less harder) steps.
Besides working hard I would like to show you the way of Portuguese life in the Algarve (only a bit faster than usual) and including you into our daily life, showing you around, playing the guitar at the fire pit, surfing, skating, talking, introducing you to the small, but nice nightlife here in Barão.
Wifi is not spread on the land yet, but once in a while, the addicted ones can use ours next to our house. I don’t care if you smoke. The meals are mostly vegetarian.
I would like to have friendly, uncomplicated, open minded people to work together, learn from one another and drinking cold beer in the evening at the fire.
The projects to work on, are totally different and might change once in a while, sometimes once in a day :) And I do need help to built some furniture, carry heavy stuff, cutting trees, gardening, digging deep holes…
Every day might be different. Not for the ones who need a fixed schedule I guess.
I don’t wanna say I only take men, but the work here (in the heat) is REALLY not for sissies ;)
So I do search for a strong, hard working (men, woman or a couple) person.
We tried hosting families for a long time now and decided to stop taking kids, we are sorry!!
If you bring a tent, you can put it wherever you like in the wwoofers' area. Although there´s shared accommodations (in the form of a big military tent) for woofers, as well as a rustic campsite with toilet, shower and kitchen.

For now we are searching for people, who feel like working only two days a week in exchange for accommodation (or a place to put your mobile home), a kitchen to take care of yourself and hot showers :)
We still need people from May til the middle of July 2018.
If this is interesting for you, let us know.

You can check some pics on Instagram:
quinta_do_espojeiro

Hope to see you soon!

Host availability

When can you visit this host?

August
September
October
November
December
January
February
March
April
May
June
July
Host information
Région
Algarve
Champs
8ha
Animaux
Dogs and Pigs
Langues
Portuguese, English and German
Régime alimentaire
Vegetarian
Écologique
75%
Durée de séjour du bénévole préferée
At least 15 days (after test period)
Nous cultivons et collectons nos graines pour notre propre usage
Yes