WWOOF Portugal

Langues

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Host CE155

Rita (32) is a health-food enthusiast and loves to work with different kinds of art-craft. She likes to explore with Medicinal plants, Fermented food, ways of preserving food and appreciates doing basketry, wool-work and book-binding. Also likes to produce cleaning and hygiene products like natural detergents, soaps and salves. Walking in the nature, singing with friends and doing yoga (now having classes with a new neighbor) are some of the other things she enjoys.

Gonçalo (36) is a nature lover with a passion for Permaculture and Natural Farming. Studied Organic Agronomy and has been practicing it for some years now, also guiding internships and volunteers. He is interested in traditional building technics and now learning Tai-chi whit a new neighbor. Enjoys singing, playing didgeridoo and to make music with his friends.

In our first 3 years in this land, we built two yurts for living (with the help of two new neighbors) , a dome for greenhouse (toilet and nursery), recovered a ruin (with the help of one local neighbor) for storage and workshop, built a stable for the farm animals with our own chestnut roundwood. Made also a vegetable garden with huegel beds and already have the help of a horse,goats, sheep and chickens to regenerate pasture where we plant trees and shrubs in order to convert it to an poly-crop system. Unfortunately in 2017 a massive fire went over this beautiful valley but in the same year we were blessed with our first home-birth daughter Dana. With us lives also a young female dog, Romã, and Mimi, the sweet cat, with her 2 sons, Benjamin and Simba. We share this land with an other couple with whom we collaborate to improve this place in order to share it with you!

This year we will need help maintaining the vegetable garden; implementing the food forests; building simple structures with roundwood and recicled materials; harvesting wild herbs and fruits and processing them; farming maintenance ( moving and cutting fire-wood; moving electric fences and farm animal summer shades).

You will have a camping area with solar shower, dry-toilet and a small caravan, with gas stove and frig (we accept a donation for the gas), that you can use for cooking. During Spring and Autumn (March, April, May, June, October and November), we provide food to volunteers that help us for 6 hours/day; During the Summer (July, August and September) and the Winter (December, January, February) we accept aprentices that only help us for 3 hours/day and buy their own food outside or from us (vegetables and eggs), in Winter you will have a caravan with wood-burner and gas stove to cook, solar shower and dry-toilet.. There's also a natural pool in the stream and according to the season, mushrooms, edible and aromatic plants, berries, acorns and chestnuts. If you can please bring your camping tend, sleeping bag, light-torch, hat and working clothes.

In north Portugal we have strong culture of family agriculture that is still practiced by beautiful old people and some young new amazing neighbors. You will meet some of those and can get to visit them to chill-out or help on farming maintenance in exchange for services, products or money and learn some knowledge or skills with joy!

Host availability

When can you visit this host?

November
December
January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
Host information
Région
Centro
Champs
12ha
Animaux
Sim/Yes (Cats, Dogs, Horse, Chickens, Sheep and Goats)
Langues
Português e Inglês
Régime alimentaire
saudavel / healthy
Écologique
99%
Durée de séjour du bénévole préferée
o tempo que eles quizerem / the time you want
Nous cultivons et collectons nos graines pour notre propre usage
Yes
Nous produisons notre énergie renouvelable (éolienne, solaire, etc.)
Yes