WWOOF Portugal

Langues

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Português

Host LI034

Urgent help needed for October! I am building a pump house and need help with construction, land clearing and irrigation!
Get in touch, please let me know when you can arrive!

Welcome to the labrynth! We are raine and James. A couple who have just started a project close to sintra. We aim to have a working organic farm that can not only supply ourselves and our volunteers but also to sell at local markets. Not only do we aim to have a farm but also want to build a real labyrinth that can be used as eco camping! Our project is located in a beautiful ancient valley, close to a river and still functioning Roman bridge, with ruins everywhere to explore... There's even an abandoned village 5kms from us.
Jobs right now are construction of kitchen, dry toilet, bathroom, greenhouse and pump house and on the days we focus on the farm making raised beds, making compost, land clearing, setting up irrigation systems and..... Weeding!
This would be the perfect place for people who want to see how to start their own project In the future, everything is just starting and you can be involved with everything if you want....even the bureaucracy if you choose!
We are an English and Canadin couple who have volunteered on wwoof farms many times in the past. raine 3 years and James 7, at this point we think we know what works and what doesn't. We'd like to think we are balanced people who really appreciate the help of our volunteers. We love music and try not to take ourselves too seriously.... James is a musician who plays saxophone, guitar, a synth lover and also music producer. Raine is a herbalist that makes and sells her own products and is always eager to share her knowledge with others. We love people who are chilled out and like to laugh a lot.
We are looking for people who are really interested to learn from us and most often with us... As the work is quite physical we do ask that you're comfortable with hard work and sometimes heavy lifting, but don't worry, we would never ask you to do some thing we don't do ourselves
We cannot offer anything too grand at the moment but we can offer a tent, all the facilities we have ourselves and of course all meals. We don't have electricity right now but we do have a car charger to charge usb devices when needed. If you have your own van to sleep in then you are of course more than welcome.

You would be working mainly with James as raine works away during the week...

Host availability

When can you visit this host?

December
January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
Host information
Région
Lisboa
Champs
1ha
Animaux
None yet!
Langues
English, French, hebrew and learning Portuguese.
Régime alimentaire
Vegetarian
Écologique
80%
Durée de séjour du bénévole préferée
1 month if everything goes well!